Xtar B20-U3 - What's Going On?

Goredoth

Newly Enlightened
I have really been looking into torches for the last few weeks especially 18650 compatible torches and this Xtar B20-U3 has got me stumped. Almost all ~1000Lm Torches I've found using one or even more 18650's will burn at that 1000Lm for around an hour some coming close to two but this torch will go happily for three hours according to Xtar that seems very long to me especially for just one 18650!

Another 18650 torch I've been looking into is the Fenix TK35 an awesome looking torch, takes two 18650's and will burn at 900Lm for "only" 1 hour 45 minutes according to Fenix another torch I really like the look of the Fenix TK51 will take THREE 18650's and will again I say "only" burn for 3 hours 30 minutes at 900Lm pretty much the same time as the B20 will put out from one battery and 100Lm brighter..?

I'm obviously a complete noob to this stuff. Could someone explain to me how this torch can get so much from a single 18650? Does it use some new ultra powerful & efficient LED or is something else at work here? I did notice the lower lumen run times were a lot longer on other 18650 torches especially ones running multiple cells.

In case the above is too long: How can the B20 pull three hours at 1000Lm from a single 18650 when most dual or more cell torches at even less lumen (900) can barely reach two hours?

kj2

Flashaholic
Maybe it uses PWM, or has a really quick step-down.

No light of that size can handle the heat been produced by the led, with such small heatsink.
Nowadays most lights have step-down. After 1/3 or 5 minutes the light enters a lower light level, to protect the light from over-heating.
The runtime shown than, is just 'what if it could handle the heat'.

Last edited:

Goredoth

Newly Enlightened