Perfect, durable, inexpensive bite grip

srvctec

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've been meaning to post this for a few months.

I use my EDC flashlight every single day, numerous times a day at my job and at home. When using it, I find I almost always need to use both hands for the task and therefore, need to place the light in my mouth.

I can't stand the feeling of bare metal against my teeth, let alone the chance I may chip a tooth while biting a bare aluminum light, so I came up with what I consider the perfect bite grip for my lights.

My current EDC is an Olight S10-2 Baton which I've been EDCing for 6 months (prior to this, an S10 Baton original for over a year). I also modded my original S10 in this manner.

I went to Harbor Freight and bought this adhesive lined heat shrink and cut a piece slightly longer than the tail cap of my light. Both items pictured below are the same part number- don't know which is the newest.

20140414_111234_zps36bd752d.jpg

I removed the tail cap so the rest of the light wouldn't need to soak up the heat from my heat gun and shrunk the tubing. I then trimmed around the lanyard attachment as well as evened up around the top edge.

20140414_111435_zps6b241fbd.jpg

20140414_111425_zps74e17333.jpg

20140414_111414_zps65073fed.jpg

The thickness of the adhesive in addition to the heat shrink outer layer, makes this a perfect bite grip. It is permanent with normal use (I've used this as a bite grip nearly ever single day for the last six months with no sign of wear) unless you decide to remove it. Then, just cut down one side and peel it off.

srvctec

Flashlight Enthusiast
I cannot say that Maglite sells this but I have a bite rig that fits nicely on a minimag.