incandescent vs luminescence

DimheadHarvent

Newly Enlightened
Hey people! Forgive me because I'm really a new beginner at lighting so thanks for your time Sensei and Senpai.

I was told that the 2 types of lighting incandescent and LED pretty much work different, one you have to excite the electron and transfer infrared to visible light and the other pretty much ultraviolet to visible light with phosphor, as a result the latter runs longer in the long term without burning out and gives out much more light with enhanced efficiency.

Though I was wondering if there's any disadvantages of LED and situations where you just have to use incandescent flashlights. Is it anything related to colour please and it would be helpful to list the pro and cons of both! Cheers everyone!:D

LanthanumK

Newly Enlightened
Incandescent lighting works using the principle of blackbody radiation. Every object emits EM radiation, the wavelength of which is determined by the temperature of the object. As the temperature rises from electrical resistance, the energy of the photons increases, shortening the wavelength. Eventually, it enters the visible spectrum, from red to orange to yellow to white. Because the light is coming from an object at a very high temperature, the majority of the energy is emitted as heat, not as light.