Any idea of current (power/voltage) consumption by CREE driver?

ArminVanBuuren

Newly Enlightened
http://www.ebay.com/itm/IP-65-CREE-...802?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item1e68c9ba6a

I purchased this, but have no idea how much current at what voltage it draws. Are there any specifications concerning CREE XMT T6 LED's driver? I've read a range of 0.7 to 2.8 amps at 3.3v, which is quite wide.

Especially, I would like to compare it to this product, which is claimed to have a "booster circuit":

http://www.ebay.com/itm/110992304085?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649

How much does it boost? Can the power consumption actually reach SLOWER values, even though 3 LEDs are involved? Any ideas about P | I | U here?

Thanks a lot.

Conte

Enlightened
I don't have any experience with these specific units, but I am a technician and know enough to interpret the specs I'm seeing in those listings.

Let's see if I can answer your question.

As you've read, the Cree XML consumes between 0.7 to ~3a of current.
The light you bought has multi output modes on it. Think of it as a dimmer circuit. You select what brightness you want it to run at.
Depending on what mode you select, it will give the Cree 0.7a, or 2.8a, or somewhere in between for medium setting.

Those specs are what the driver circuit feeds the LED.
Inside the lamp is going to be a circuit board which controls the LED. It takes whatever power is fed to it, and converts it to supply the LED.
This is called a Driver.

In the first listing, is states clearly that the lamp consumes 8.4 volts. The driver will convert that 8.4v to the 3.3v the LED needs.
Without knowing specifically what driver is in the lamp and what efficiency it operates at, there is no way to tell what amperage the lamp consumes.
Either way, they claim about 3-4hours of runtime at full power so that's pretty good.
And that's at full power, you can dim it to double that and still have enough light to safely navigate the streets at night.