In search of a non-PWM dimmer for DIY LED video lights

AlexGroove

Newly Enlightened
(I'm new to decent LED modding, so hope you can bear with a noob haha)
Dear all,

After some research on CPF and video-related forums I got intrested into making my own led floods.
Like the title states I'm looking for a non-PWM dimmer (PWM will cause banding on video) and I found out it will have to be a pot-dimmer. Since I'm not the most skilled in piecing together my own driver I would like to use a regular DC-DC converter. I'm aiming at a 100w led (10x10watt) running off of a LI-ION batterypack (voltage to be determined; anything between 12v or 14.4v/14.8v or 24v would be great)

Hope you guys can help me out (you most likely can haha)

-Alex Groove (a camera guy)

Last edited:

Conte

Enlightened
Since you are using 10 leds, instead of dimming, just have switches to turn on how many you need.
That way you could use single mode drivers that often will not need to use PWM when running full power.
Or you could go direct drive, maybe.

I think your bigger challenge is going to be keeping all those high power LED's cool.

AlexGroove

Newly Enlightened
Thanks Lucca I'll check in to that a bit more!

Conte, It really has to be dimming as it will for video-purposes. So different banks and switches won't be a viable option.

I'll check into direct drive as I have no clue of what it is haha. The cooling wont be a "big" challenge as I have no problem implementing a fan system, I just have to find a quiet one.

Thanks for the responses so far!

Conte

Enlightened
You'll need more than fans, or no fans at all. A big copper chunk of sort to stick them to. A big enough open air heatsink would work without the need of fans.
This depends on what kind of emitter you go with and how hard you're going to push it.

I'm not sure why you'd need dimming for video.
I got my idea from the lighting I saw when once working on a movie set.