Any small business owners here?

knotgoofy

Newly Enlightened
So, I was just wondering if there are any other small business owners here that wouldn't mind lending their experience running there business. Whether good or bad? I'm looking to expand mine (we offer entertainment services for parties and event) but thought it'd be interesting to see if anyone here has anything they'd like to share about running there's. :grin2:

nbp

Flashaholic
I recently started my own small business, so I don't have a lot of experience yet, but I can tell my story briefly.

I graduated from college in 2010 with a bachelor's degree in biology. Between my work during school and after graduating I had 7 years experience in Quality Assurance for a contract blending and packaging company. I was involved in nearly every part of production from component and raw material inspections to blending operations and packaging as well. I ran a variety of analytical equipment to test actives in OTC drug products and helped the formulators with bench tests as well as directing line supervisors on adjustments to filling and packaging. I basically was the QA department for the 2nd shift crew.

But for all that experience, the pay was crappy and I hated my schedule. Other similar available jobs offered more of the same. I wanted to have more flexible hours to pursue other interests while I'm still young enough to do so and earn a fair wage without selling my soul to a company. I decided I wanted to try being my own boss.

So I quit my job and went to work for a friend who had a small but successful window cleaning company. I worked for him for about 7 months last year to learn the business. Over the winter I put everything into motion to start my own window cleaning company.