XT60-Based Modular Lighting/Emergency Power/Solar Project.

richardcpf

Flashlight Enthusiast
Some time ago I came up with an idea, to make all my flashlight and power storing/supplying equipment compatible with each other. So in any given case, I would have all the versatility I need.

The concept is very basic and has only 2 criteria:

1. There would be 2 power sources:
-12V which is based on 3S LiPo packs/car battery/solar panels. The need for this voltage is self explanatory. :)
-24v which is used to lessen the current draw and being able to recharge twice as fast. Using a hobby charger (ICharge 106+) you can charge at the same rate as a 3S, at 2C rate if required in an emergency situation. For example being able to charge to 70% a 5000mAh 6S pack in less than one hour!

2. All equipment should be able to interconnect:
-As a flashaholic and a hobby guy I have plenty of experience with the XT60 connector. It has become the most widely used hobby DC connector for its reliability, durability, compact size, easy assembly and it provides some decent level of water resistance. Soldering cable to the XT60 is relatively easy and it will take 10awg up. Have I mention the XT60 is rated at 60A constant? :whistle: All power outputs will carry male connector, while power input uses the female side. Shorting is impossible with this setup.

xt-60-connectors.jpg

My current setup is pretty basic as I just started this project today. It took me a couple hours to do the soldering you see below. Here are few examples:

IMG_7072_zpsa86928be.jpg

5000mAh 6S pack, swapped to XT60 connector. Provides plenty of power for about $50.

IMG_7073_zpsb8855ce1.jpg

12V plug and receptacle. 15ft extension cable. I will be making more extension cables of several lengths and types.

IMG_7074_zps9f79f8cc.jpg

450W DC-to-110v inverter with the extension cable and 12v plug.

IMG_7075_zps64563d17.jpg