Need Help With Super Bright LEDs for Prop Project

Edymnion

Newly Enlightened
Hello,

I have some experience with wiring up standard el-cheapo 5mm LEDs for various projects where my only real consideration was "make it light up", but my current project demands more and I think I'm a little outside of my league. Time to ask for some help from people who are more experienced than myself!

Project:
I'm building a prop that I would ideally like to shoot out a very strong flashlight quality beam of light in order to project a logo onto a wall. Think handheld bat signal.

Requirements:
Needs to ideally be able to throw a fairly crisp image through a red resin lens with the logo blacked out on it.
Needs to be able to run for short periods of time on a 9v or perhaps 6 AAA's. By short periods I mean 10-15 seconds at a time.
Needs to fit under a shallow dome with an 8cm diameter and at most 2cm depth.
Needs to not put off too much heat, as they will be fully enclosed in a cramped space with little to no ventilation.

Preferences:
My experience is limited to standard dome LEDs with 2-3 leads, but I've been watching videos on SMDs. They look like a lot more hassle than I'd ideally like to go through (tweezers to mount them onto PCB just to wire them up is honestly making me cringe a bit).
Not bank breaking. I'd like to keep it under 50 cents per LED if possible.

So, does anyone have recommendations on:
1) Is this even possible under such constraints.
2) What LEDs I should be looking for?

Also, is it correct that 1,000 mcd = 1 lumen? I've been seeing them spec'ed in both lumens and mcd, and wanting to make sure I'm comparing oranges to oranges.

---