Why don't my 2 Nichia 291B flashlights look anything alike?

williaty

Newly Enlightened
I have two flashlights, both supposedly built with the same LED (4500K High-CRI Nichia 219B). One is a Surefire 6P with a Nailbender/Customlites drop-in and the other is a Surefire 9P with the Sportac triple drop in. I've had the 6P/Nailbender drop in for a couple of weeks now and the Sportac drop in just showed up today. In going from one to the other to play with them, I noticed that the light that comes out of them looks NOTHING alike! To provide background to that statement, I worked as a professional photographer and professional photographic printer for quite a long time, so I'm well used to looking at light and seeing what's really there rather than what my brain wants to assume is there. Additionally, I have accidentally found a fantastic test of LED color rendering. The board game Takenoko has 3 colors of tiles. Low-CRI (meaning less than 85 or so) light sources make it almost impossible to tell the pink tiles from the yellow tiles. High-CRI (meaning over 90) will not only show which is pink and which is yellow, they'll reveal some of the color variation within the tile.

So, the 6P/Nailbender is very cold/blue, much colder than I was expecting for a 4500K LED. In fact, it's slightly colder (visually) than the 5000K CREE A19 light bulb I have. It barely passed my quick-n-dirty color rendering test in that you could identify the pink and yellow tiles but it's wasn't as easy as it should be and you couldn't see any variation in the color on the tile.

The 9P/Sportac, on the other hand, looks, well, normal for what it claims to be. It pretty well matches what I'd expect to see out of a 4100-4500K source with a high CRI. The light reads as white, not blue-tinted and it passes the color rendering test with flying colors. Literally, if you throw the tiles!