Purchased cheap Ebay headlamps, now concerned with safety

Zuggerton

Newly Enlightened
Hello CPF! Newbie here looking for some feedback on some cheap headlamps/batteries I've purchased from ebay. I purchased 4 headlamps complete with 2 18650 batteries each that were around $20 a set (search for the Boruit JR-3000 and Cree XM-L T6 Zoomable to get an idea). I knew they would be cheap quality and figured they would not output the stated 3000 lumen or last the 5000mah (Ultrafire) but at that price I thought they would be worth a look. They do shine quite bright (perhaps 800 lumens) and last about an hour or less. I mountain bike through fast trails at night and would like as much light as possible. I have given a couple of these away as Christmas presents, my concern now (after recently reading about dangers of 18650 batteries) is that the batteries are unprotected and I don't think there's any protection in the lamp itself. Now that I know "a little" about these batteries I was looking at a decent charger and protected batteries like the panasonic or eagletacs but those wont quite fit in the lamp. So now I'm at a loss and unsure about the safety of these lights regarding exploding batteries. If I purchased a decent charger (Nitecore i4?) and unprotected panasonic batteries would they be safe from overcharging and exploding? Would you recommend a different cell chemistry like an IMR battery? Should I contact the recipients of my headlamp gift and tell them that the batteries are dangerous and could explode while wearing them? Other decent mountain bike light systems are about the $300 range which I cannot afford. I'd be happy to hear any other headlamp recommendations that could be more affordable. All feedback is appreciated, thank you!

Str8stroke

Flashlight Enthusiast