Led Lenser X21 with 18650??

Mukiwa19

Newly Enlightened
Hi there,

I have a Led Lenser X21 and I really want to be able to use 18650s instead of the 4D's... Im not an expert on electronics at all so I don't even know if it is possible but I really don't want to have all different sized batteries and chargers for my different flashlights. Let me know what i'd have to do...

Bob Damon

Enlightened
Unfortunately, using an 18650 in the x21 would be very difficult. You can just enjoy the lights you have and make a plan to standardize with future purchases.

pparmenter

Newly Enlightened
run nimh d cells, not recommended by lenser but wayyyy more punch (for 5 mins lol) gotta love direct drive. 18650s in a reducer would instaflash an expensive light dont do it

NoNotAgain

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi there,

I have a Led Lenser X21 and I really want to be able to use 18650s instead of the 4D's... Im not an expert on electronics at all so I don't even know if it is possible but I really don't want to have all different sized batteries and chargers for my different flashlights. Let me know what i'd have to do...

Four D cell alkaline batteries produce 1.5 volts each for a total of 6 volts driving the X21 led's
18650 batteries each produce nominal voltage of 3.7 volts, so the maximum number of cells you can wire in series without torching your light is 2.

You've got a couple of options:
1. Sell the light
2. Purchase some eneloop NiMh cells and the D cell adapters.
3. Purchase a couple of 26650 batteries, and fabricate a battery carrier to wire them in series.
4. Fabricate a battery carrier for installing two 18650 batteries.

Mukiwa19

Newly Enlightened
You've got a couple of options:
1. Sell the light
2. Purchase some eneloop NiMh cells and the D cell adapters.
3. Purchase a couple of 26650 batteries, and fabricate a battery carrier to wire them in series.
4. Fabricate a battery carrier for installing two 18650 batteries.