What aluminum grade do you use?

alanz

Newly Enlightened
I'm just beginning to play with machining aluminum.

In order to practice on my new little lathe (MicroMark 7x14) I need to order some aluminum rod stock.

Chief Wiggum suggested using 7075 aluminum because of better machinability. Other lathes sites suggest 6061.

So, lathe-masters... what is your prefered aluminum stock, and why?

Thanks in advance.

jtice

Flashaholic
Well, I have no experience yet, so,, dont listen to me.

But, I just ordered $150 in Al 6061 stock last night.
I here its fine for our needs, I will soon know. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Good luck with your new lathe Alan, glad to see theres another member diving into the lathe world with me. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

Velcro

Enlightened
[ QUOTE ]
alanz said:
In order to practice on my new little lathe (MicroMark 7x14)

[/ QUOTE ]

Would that be this?

82710.jpg

Nice. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/popcorn.gif

tvodrd

*Flashaholic* ,
6061 in T6 temper is probably the most common wrought alloy out there. It offers decent strength, corrosion resistance, and weldability. 7075 T6 is a lot stronger- 73,000psi yield strength vs 40,000 for 6061 T6. Ultimate strength is even better at 83ksi for 7075 vs 45ksi for 6061. Elongation to break suffers a little- from 17% for 6061 to 11% for 7075. (Hardly brittle.) In my own experience, it machines a lot nicer- less gummy and I can use less cutting fluid. Oh, it's a little harder to get and costs more.

Larry

alanz

Newly Enlightened
tvodrd,

So given the two materials, what would be your preference for making flashlights?

tvodrd

*Flashaholic* ,
alanz,

I've been using the 7075 lately. My local metal yard doesn't even stock it, and they are a pretty big outfit. I've been buying the precision ground stuff from McMaster. (Grab ur wallet! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/rant.gif )

Larry

alanz

Newly Enlightened
I looked at the McMaster product sheets.