Newbie here with first good light

dylan

Newly Enlightened
Now,I've always understood and been into the knife craze, but the flash light thing just never made sense to me. I thought you guys were nuts /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif. Well, I finally got me a decent and fairly cheap light this X mas, an Inova X5. Now I see reason for being infatuated with them, they're damn cool! I really like my light. It does a good job of lighting up a room and is pretty effective when shined in the eyes up close. Since I'm a noob, I think it's a VERY bright light. But, in fact, it may be down right weak compared to others. How is the X5 compared to the Surefire E series and the L-4? Also, the beam doesn't go very far and spreads out a LOT over distance. It is a floodlight, afterall. I'd like something that keeps a fairly tight beam over distance and is effective over a distance, 50-60 feet maybe. What do you guys think? Oh yeah, I could not find a Lumens rating for the X5, anyone know it? And is there a conversion factor for candlepower to lumens? Thanks /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

paulr

Flashaholic
The L4 is about ten times as bright as the X5. You pay for it in battery consumption: the L4 will wipe out a pair of 123's in about one hour. The X5 and L4 both spread somewhat more than the E series. If you want a tight beam in a LED light, try an L5, which is a somewhat bigger light than an L4 but has much longer range.

Stanley

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi dylan, welcome... and you're gonna be in trouble! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/naughty.gif If you think the X5 is cool, wait till you get your hands on other lights like the Arc LS, E1e/E2e/KL4, SL TLs & TTs, just to name a few... All the lights mentioned + some that I missed out are 'cool' in their own way. It never fails to amaze me how impressive each light is until I get it... thats why I'm still stuck with all my lights, none of them ever get sold! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif