Confused in Colorado

RalphJameson

Newly Enlightened
I'm new to quality flashlights and I could use some insight. I've noticed that some lights might have higher lumen output but lower beam intensity than a comparison flashlight.

As an example, the Nitecore P15 has a max of 430 lumens and a peak beam intensity of 19,321cd, whereas the Nitecore P12 has a greater lumen rating of 950 but a lesser beam intensity of 12,450cd.

1) Is beam intensity largely a factor of reflector size/shape?
2) Would I be correct in saying that throw distance is more a function of beam intensity than lumen output?
3) Is lumen rating solely a function of light emitted from the diode or is is effected by reflector size.
4) Everybody seems to talk about lumen output but not much about cd. Is cd rating much of a concern?

Just trying to sort out a few variables that are new to me.
RJ

StarHalo

Flashaholic
1,2) Yes
3) Lumens are the the gross amount of visible light coming out of the emitter only, no consideration for how the light is reflected or redirected.
4) cd = candela, or the amount of light being emitted in the one specific direction where it is most greatly concentrated. This can be misleading since an emitter might have a tiny bright spot and be otherwise dim. For flashlights, Lux is the better measurement since it tells you the amount of light falling on a given area at a given distance.

Polargirl

Newly Enlightened
Always a joy seeing a new budding flashaholic.

At the very least, having one more flashlight educated person is plenty good. It makes me cringe hearing people say how great of a light they got at Home Depot or worse, Walmart.

The flashlight industry is probably the most poorly marketed industry out there.

martinaee

Flashlight Enthusiast
Always a joy seeing a new budding flashaholic.

At the very least, having one more flashlight educated person is plenty good. It makes me cringe hearing people say how great of a light they got at Home Depot or worse, Walmart.