Olight S10L2 switch mod?

srvctec

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've been carrying an S10 as my EDC for over 2 years now and absolutely love the form factor (just wish there was a high CRI version).

I've had my L2 version come on a few times while clipped to my pocket. What I was wondering is if anyone with the Olight baton series lights has tried to trim/sand/file/cut the switch button down to make it low profile or flush with the bezel around the button. Will cutting it off flush make the water resistance nonexistent? I tried a forum search for the last hour and found nothing.

bjt3833

Newly Enlightened
I don't have an s20 so I obviously haven't modded it but it does have the low voltage indicator on the button, right? If so then I'd bet the button was too thin to shave down enough to make it flush without breaking through and destroying the button altogether. The ones without the low voltage light like the s15 I have, I might think would be possible tho.

oops I had s20 stuck in my head apparently since I have an s20r on order. Ignore my post.

Last edited:

reppans

Flashlight Enthusiast
For similar problems on other lights I've seen some folks glue/epoxy an appropriately sized O-ring or faucet washer to the body which acted as a clicky shroud. No reason it wouldn't work here as well. Course there's always the electronic lockout feature and mechanical tailcap lockout too, but both are a pain compared to a well protected clicky.

Fireclaw18

Flashlight Enthusiast
One rather risky way of fixing this issue may be to disassemble the light then use a small scissors to trim the bottom of the button boot.

The bottom of the button boot has a rubber post that extends into the pill to depress the momentary switch when the button is pressed. If you trim off the bottom of this boot, more pressure will be needed to activate the switch.

The big risk is that it's not reversible. This won't damage the waterproofing though.

srvctec

Flashlight Enthusiast