High CRI - My Oh My!

pineapple

Newly Enlightened
I just put together my first high CRI flashlight and being a relative newbie I wanted to share my joy with someone! I'm thinking my wife's reaction might be something along the lines of, "That's nice - it's a flashlight and it lights up the dark ... just like your other flashlights". (I could hardly wait for it to get dark tonight so I could go out to the woods behind my house).

Anyway, what I put together is a Malkoff M31 219B in a VME head. Works great on my Surefire E2L AA running eneloop's, or my E1L on a primary cr123a.

I know I'm preaching to the choir here, but I'm just blown away by the color rendition when using this! It's one thing to read about high CRI lights and see pics of beam shots and all, but that falls short of describing what you actually see when using one. Deep, vibrant colors that aren't washed out, or tinted blue or green or yellow.

I can't say I ever thought of colors as being "washed out" before, but this has definitely opened my eyes to a whole new world out there. I feel like I can see better, if that makes any sense.

Mr. Tone

Flashlight Enthusiast
Yes, I completely understand. I am at a point where I am strongly considering modding all my lights to the 4500k hi cri Nichia 219b.

jmoyat

Flashlight Enthusiast
I own several hi cri Eiger from Peak Eiger and looooove them so much!

Sent from my iPhone using Candlepowerforums

Timothybil

Flashlight Enthusiast
Another source for high CRI (90) drop ins would be Lumens Factory. All of their current D26 LED drop ins come in either Neutral White or 90 CRI. They use the Cree XP-G, with a CC5 of 2700K-3200K. Comes in single mode or three mode versions, nice run time, very nice even beam, reasonable price. And great customer service.

StorminMatt

Flashlight Enthusiast
LED's should only be made available in HCRI. All others are inferior. :thumbsup: