Ikelite Gamma

Medic75

Newly Enlightened
Hello all

So i have been doing some reading about RCR123's and would like to switch my wife's Gamma over to rechargeable, but was warned about voltage. So my question is can the Gamma handle the extra V. I have searched the net and have not come up with any great answer. Is 1.2v extra going to be to much for this little light?
If they do work can you also point me in the right direction of a good battery.
Thank you

Packhorse

Flashlight Enthusiast
At a guess, I'd say that it would probably work. But if it does not you will only find out by blowing up the LED or driver.

But if it did, the run time would be less.

Perhaps a better option to try would be a single 17650 or 16650. You wont risk blowing up the light. But there is a chance it simply wont work, or may run dimmer.

yorab

Newly Enlightened
I am in the same situation--I'm trying to go with rechargeables for my Iketlite Gamma. I am no expert so I've decided to do some research to try to get up to speed. The first thing that I did was to email Ikelite. Here is their response:
Thank you for the inquiry. The Gamma is compatible with (2) rechargeable CR123 batteries, though you will have shorter run time. The Gamma is not compatible with a single rechargeable 18650-size battery.

Because it is not compatible electrically, we designed the body to prevent the slightly larger diameter 18650 cell from fitting into the Gamma.

So that answers the question of whether one can use a single 1X650--the answer is no. However it is possible to use (2) of the rechargeable CR123 alternatives--namely the rechargeable 16340s.

Now my question (and I presume yours) is which 16340s to go with. There are various chemistries that produce various voltages. We would both want the longest burn time possible without increasing risk of damage to the batteries or the Gamma. I would need to have ~60 minutes or more of burn time on a fully charged set of batteries. I hope that this is possible.