5.11 "tactical"

subalpine

Newly Enlightened
Howdy folks
I am an Armed Security Officer at a major hospital here in Colorado.
Let the rent a pig jokes flow.

But seriously. I have a 5.11 TMT L2 flashlight. It is about 6 months old. It was 0 degrees the other night at work. I dropped the flashlight with my gloves on. The light stopped working.
I took a look at it later that shift. The LED module had two wires loose.
I called 5.11 today. Due to the drop, it is not warrantied, which I dont really care about. What gets me is there are no replacement parts for it. The 5.11 rep said they do not sell the LED piece.

So my question for you is, any ideas where I can get a replacement? Or where can I find out if any aftermarket drop in modules like the p60 will fit?

Some rough measurements of the LED piece

total length= .5 inch
diameter at led end=.75 inch
diameter at module=.5 inchThanks.
looking at it more, I guess the overall length could be longer. the reflector is a seperate piece and I did not include it in the measurment.

Last edited:

StandardBattery

Flashlight Enthusiast
Their website says "Impact resistant to 2 meters". For the price of that light it should handle a drop.

You can look at Surefire lights they have a lifetime warranty no hassle, good for heavy ruff use.

How many levels do you need? Did you like the High,Low and Strobe of that particular light?

Maybe you can just solder the wires back on? It does not appear to be P60 compatible.

You could see if you like Malkoff lights. Elzetta might be worth a look also. All fairly standard tactical lights. There are plenty to choose from, moving down just a bit like EagleTac or you could put together a Solarforce light with a standard drop-in.

subalpine

Newly Enlightened
Yeah, I am WAY dissappointed with the break.
I was hoping to get a drop in due to price, and I really like the 5.11 shape and size.
I did try to solder it, but had no luck. Probably due to lack of expierence.