Evacuation and Power Outage

BAreEhD

Newly Enlightened
...and I was unprepared.

An urgent email came out this afternoon at my office that there was an electrical issue in the building and everyone needed to evacuate within 5 minutes to avoid being caught in the dark. We were instructed to make our way down to street level via the stairs as the timing of the outage would be unpredictable and no one wants to be caught in an elevator.

My coworkers and I (there's about 300 of us, we occupy the majority of the building) head into the stairwells which were well lit at the time and equipped with emergency lighting. Sure enough, about half way through our descent, the lights go out. To make matters worse, the emergency lights did not activate!

It was at this moment when the regret hit me. I have recently purchased a Fenix E12 for EDC but left for work this morning without it. I'm new to carrying a flashlight, and today was just one of those days where I simply forgot to put it in my pocket.

The shame I felt as I pulled out my phone and activated the "torch" app is why I'm posting this. I had a perfectly good light that could have lit the stairwell, but it was sitting at home on my night stand.

Thankfully no one was hurt. It could have been much worse.

Today I learned a valuable lesson: put that light in your pocket every day. You never know when it will be needed. I was lucky to have gotten by with the LED on my phone, but it might not be that simple next time.

mcnair55

Flashlight Enthusiast
A tip to help remember is how I do it.

Wallet(money)-car keys-pen-light-handy phone = 5 .I go to work with 5 and count 5.My messenger bag also contains 5 items. ipad(work).walkabout(work)tablet.handy phone(private)and my card wallet.

If I cannot count 5 I am not leaving the house.

cland72

Flashlight Enthusiast