Modifying stock Chrysler minivan flashlight

akatsuki

Newly Enlightened
Chrysler minivans come with rechargeable flashlights that charge from the car and sit in the truck. They are very, very mediocre. What I'd like to do is replace the guts of the flashlight with modern good stuff, with nice wide dispersion, keep the form factor, the recharging from the car capability, and the red low-battery light.

This is my first time doing this sort of mod, so I just want to run through the basic steps and get some input.

(1) Multimeter what is going to the current dual LEDs
(2) Find a combination of LED, controller (if needed), and optic that fit
(3) Do the switch
(4) Have a beer?

In a nutshell is that right? I'll post more details as I take apart the flashlight and measure stuff.

StarHalo

Flashaholic
If they're plastic, forget it; a decent modern torch needs a metal body for heat dissipation.

Route the engine air intake under the bumper, saw off the catalytic converter, then have a beer.

akatsuki

Newly Enlightened
Flashlight

1. They are - maybe the retrofit would have to be more extensive then - including adding metal for dissipation and some sort of venting. Now I really wish I had a CNC machine and 3D scanner - would be perfect to create a new body that fits

2. I could also massively underpower a good LED (e.g. Nichia 219 @ 100mA) or something and still have better light output

Intake

Tell me more!

Str8stroke

Flashlight Enthusiast
I say, forget about it. I have a Dodge van with that light. Already looked at it. Plastic limits things. You could probably do some minor stuff. But not worth the headache.