Some questions for my first project

giulio1993

Newly Enlightened
Hello,
I'm a complete newbie but I'm trying to understand how I could build my first torch reading project on this forum and on other websites.

My first project is to completely modify a petzl zoom headlamp (originally with an old halogen bulb) with a high power led. The light is intended to be used for caving and it should normally run at around 150/200 lm, with the ability to quickly burst at around 1000 lm if needed.

This is a similar project: http://www.whitbyseaanglers.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=30347.0

I want to power it with a 3.7V battery pack (would a 7.4v be better?).

For the emitter I tought about the cree XM-L U3, do you think it's good for my project?

My next two questions regard the driver and heatsinking:

- The driver should have both temperature protection (since I expect it getting very hot at full power) and low voltage protection (some warnings or something that reduces brightness when batteries drop in voltage). Looking on fasttech I found different drivers whit these features but I couldn't find any with both of them, can you help me?

- The petzl zoom has a plastic body so I expect it to get very hot, especially at high lumens. Ok, 1000lm will be only used for seconds so it shouldn't be a huge problem, but what kind of heatsinker do I need to use to run the light at lets say 200lm?

Thank you!

Last edited:

agnelucio

Newly Enlightened
:welcome:

I'll try to answer your questions as clearly as possible.

Question:
I want to power it with a 3.7V battery pack (would a 7.4v be better?).

Answer: Use 3.7V.

Reason:
The driver has to dissipate the power formed from the excess voltage.
An XML running at 3A takes 3.3V (for 1000lm output).

3.7V battery: 3.7-3.3=0.4V P=IV=3x0.4=1.2W wasted
7.4V battery: 7.4-3.3=4.1V P=IV=3x4.1=12.3W wasted

7.4V for an XML means that your driver ends up wasting MUCH MORE
(12.3-1.2=11.1W)energy than at 3.7V.

Question: