Potential issue with Klarus Mi1A AA titanium flashlight...

User323

Newly Enlightened
Hi everyone

As you'll quickly realise as you (hopefully) read on I'm new to the world of flashlights so please excuse my ignorance / lack of proper phraseology.

I recently purchased a Klarus Mi1A AA titanium flashlight, and it seems like a well-built one with reasonable lumens and runtime, apart from one issue I'd like to get some advice on.

When the flashlight is in the off-position, the o ring is slightly visible. The flashlight head looks like it should be sitting much lower in the main body (again sorry for the awful phrasing). It takes around two and a half revolutions to tighten the flashlight to maximum from the off-position, but only around one and a half revolutions from the off-position to completely unscrew the torch head.

A slightly visible o ring just doesn't seem right to me, it doesn't look like this in any of the images I had looked at previously, and I'm concerned about how waterproof it is, and that this is a potential weak point as only a small amount of the available threads are in use so to speak when the flashlight is in the off-position.

It's as if the positive connector at the bottom of the flashlight main body is slightly too big / pushing the battery up too much. I don't know if this could be compressed slightly in anyway, of if it's not advisable to further explore this for danger of damaging the flashlight.

Many thanks in advance for any thoughts or suggestions, and if any parts are particularly unclear let me know and I will try to clarify...

(and apologies if this is in the wrong thread)

kj2

Flashaholic
Open o-rings are always a bad sign. If I picture the light in my head, and read your story, it looks like there isn't enough thread.
Where did you order this light? Possibly a return and exchange is a option.

User323

Newly Enlightened
Thanks for the reply kj2.

I bought it from an online flashlight retailer in the UK where I'm based.