Fogo "Smart" Flashlight

880arm

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've noticed some "smart" flashlights from various manufacturers that incorporate LCD displays, motion sensing, and other gee-whiz features but I ran across one this morning that pretty much takes the cake. This is not an endorsement, I have no first-hand experience with this light and know nothing about the company but I thought it would be worth sharing. From what I can tell it's on display at CES this week and will be launching on Kickstarter sometime soon.

It's called Fogo and, in addition to its flashlight function, it incorporates an LCD display, accelerometer, GPS, Walkie Talkie, and the ability to recharge USB devices. Apparently it also has the capability to run simple apps such as one that can translate text into pulses of light (Morse Code). You can read more here.

i.php

Photo Courtesy of engadget​

There are also plans to introduce optional tailcaps that could be used to further extend the functionality. Things like a dive computer (seriously), satellite phone (really?), range finder, and stun gun are mentioned in the article. Considering how cold it is right now I think an optional hand warmer would be nice to have as well :devil:

Honestly it's a little too much for me (OK, a lot) and I realize I'm probably too old-fashioned. While I'm confident there will always be a place for boring conventional flashlights that "only" offer one or two operating modes, I can't help but wonder whether we will keep seeing more and more stuff like this aimed at the gadget (not necessarily flashlight) enthusiasts. What do you guys think?

Fireclaw18

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'd rather have all those features in my phone, not my flashlight.

*RING*

"Oh a call is coming in... I better answer it!"

*fumbles phone to head, then gropes for the answer button."

ZZZZAAAAAAAPPPP!!!!!

"GaaaaaHHH... who put this stungun on my phone!!!":sick2:

nationalsecurityguard

Newly Enlightened