ASP: Taclite vs Triad

Joe Talmadge

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi,

The ASP Taclite has gotten a lot of praise on this forum for having great throw (and, I assume, a reasonable beam pattern). Does the ASP Triad have the same performance characteristics? I notice the Triad is adjustable spot-to-flood, which usually bodes ill for beam quality.

Thanks,

Joe

D

**DONOTDELETE**

Joe,

I haven't tested the Triad model so my comments about it have been minimal if any. The reflector does not seem to have the depth of the Taclite's, therefore it does not have the throw of the latter.

Incidentally, the Taclight does adjust from spot to flood but not as readily as the Triad's external mechanism. The Taclite's entire lamp assembly will need to be removed for the adjustment to be performed. Once set, it does not inadvertently adjust when holstered or placed in a pocket.

I have been using the Taclite since 1997. My personal unit now carries the teardrop-shaped bulb and is adjusted to a very tight spot.

The projected spot is approximately 12 inches in diameter at 21 feet. The spot is not one that Flashaholics would consider optimal. It contains artifacts due to the deep mirrored aluminum reflector used. This is not an issue with me. At distance and when actually ID'ing a target, I don't pay attention to the beam. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smirk.gif

Joe Talmadge

Flashlight Enthusiast