New to modifying Surefire flashlights

TFin04

Newly Enlightened
Hello all,

I have a number of Surefire lights and I am just getting into the modifications available for them. I am aware of the Malkoff drop ins but that is about as far as my knowledge goes.

Here are some of the hosts I have available:
- Old G2 LED
- Old 6P LED
- P2X Fury
- P3X Fury
- M3LT

Some things I may be interested in:
- Higher output on the old G2/6P (Malkoff I'm assuming is the best option)
- 18650 operation for any/all of them
- Smaller head for the M3LT
- 2x 18650 modification to make one into a long run time light?

Any help on where to start would be appreciated. I've been to a few of the popular mod/parts sites but the acronyms and what not are confusing to me.

flashlight chronic

Enlightened
Check the 6PX/G2X thread on what can be done to your X series lights, assuming you can remove your heads. I've posted pics of my modded 6PX. Also a modder by the username Tana is running an interest thread to mod the stock X heads as well. For the G2 I'd go w/ a Malkoff. For the 6P you can pretty much do anything, as long as you don't have the LED module that's built into the head. Personally, I wouldn't mod the M3LT, it will void the Surefire warranty.

Str8stroke

Flashlight Enthusiast
Wow, some how I missed this thread a few days ago. Sorry you got such a weak response for members.

G2: Keep in mind you don't want to make that G2 a flamethrower, either go for a high CRI drop in with decent lumen, or a low lumen long run time rig. Too much heat can burn up the led. Not enough aluminum to properly discharge the heat.