Ebay question. Product not received.

jhereg

Enlightened
I am relatively new to Ebay. Everything was delivered to me promptly, until now. I won an auction on 12/13 & the item was supposedly shipped 12/16. The item was insured. I have been in contact w/ the seller & he is checking on his end, but I haven't heard anything since 12/31. Any recommendations on what you normally do in this situation? Any deadlines I need to be aware of when it comes to reporting the problem to ebay/paypal? Thanks.

Andy
(I'm patient. I'm not itching to send any negative feedback. I just want to make sure I'm not TOO patient where it causes problems for me.)

NeonLights

Flashlight Enthusiast
Threaten negative feedback and threaten that you'll file a report with Ebay and Paypal. For experienced users, this will usually get their attention. I've threatened negative (or neutral) feedback eight or ten times over the past couple of years, and almost every time I've had the seller take care of the problem. Medium to long term users (except for those with feedback in the thousands) usually don't want to risk negative feedback.

The one time I didn't receive the product I paid for through ebay/paypal (a car hood), I kept after the guy, and within 30-60 days I got my money back. Several times when a product was described in "like new" or "perfect" condition and then wasn't, I threatened negative feedback after receiving the item. Twice I've gotten part of my money back due to the condition of the item being misrepresented. It feels a little like extortion to me (threatening to leave negative feedback, then receiving money), but I don't like buying something in worse condition than is advertised.

-Keith

Wits' End

Flashlight Enthusiast
Remote NEast Minnesota, next to Lake Superior