Charging an 18650

Riddus

Newly Enlightened
So I bought a Nitecore P12 "bundle" off amazon. The light, a Nitecore 2300Ma 18650 and charger. Seemed like a good place for me to enter "nice lights". The listing implied a Nitecore charger, but upon arrival it is not…just a cheaply no name. I'm new to rechargeable batteries in general, so a charger with no sort of indicator lights or auto-off feature worries me. Do I run the risk of "overcharging" this sort of battery if I just leave it in over night?

NoNotAgain

Flashlight Enthusiast
So I bought a Nitecore P12 "bundle" off amazon. The light, a Nitecore 2300Ma 18650 and charger. Seemed like a good place for me to enter "nice lights". The listing implied a Nitecore charger, but upon arrival it is not…just a cheaply no name. I'm new to rechargeable batteries in general, so a charger with no sort of indicator lights or auto-off feature worries me. Do I run the risk of "overcharging" this sort of battery if I just leave it in over night?

For an unknown charger, you'd be better off tossing it and get Nitecore i2, i4 or D2 charger. Should cost less than $20 for either.

The i series chargers don't have a display only a panel that indicates when charge is complete. The D series chargers have a LED display that shows charge rate as well as voltage while charging.

Riddus

Newly Enlightened
Thanks for the input! Let's say I've hit my flashlight budget for a while due to fear of divorce…any suggestions on how to proceed with caution using this charger? I read a bit saying that charging any Li-ion can be dangerous if not monitored.

NoNotAgain

Flashlight Enthusiast
On the cheap, you could only charge the battery while home, possibly be closed in a room not used. Then only charge for three or four hours.

The Nitecore P12 displays voltage via a flashing light, first the major voltage, meaning three flashes, 3 volts, then a pause, then minor voltage, eight flashes for .8 volts.