Streamlight Sidewinder Military version?

880arm

Flashlight Enthusiast
Sure, it's available for purchase from just about any Streamlight retailer.

I can't think of any issues when travelling domestically, internationally I don't know. I believe most of the restrictions are centered around devices that can "see" IR rather than producing it, but I have no first-hand experience with this.

John_Galt

Flashlight Enthusiast
You're fine.

I have one and its very useful. I actually have the compact 2 model, which cna use a AA or CR123. Can also use a AAA if you wrap it in a bit of tape. Ir mode is brighter than the ir led on a pvs14, and of course has selectable levels of output and a strobe.

Helmet mount is very solid. Clip is solid and has held up very well through tons of training exercises, a deployment and getting tossed around attached to my helmet. Has held up better than the exposed three position seitches on the surefire helmet light.

The model I had "C4 LED" is, I believe either an xpe-2 or a samsung 35 series LED. Cold white, about 5500-6000k. Even with the low output and small reflector, it has a very tight, intense beam. Max output itll throw a tight beam 50 or so meters. The corona is very dim in comparison to the hotspot, but still useably bright up close.

Red is patchy and ringy. I took the bezel off of mine, dropped out the reflector and plastic insert and carefuly sanded the led. Much smoother now, but without a "hotspot" it doesnt punch as far. Definitely a low output, close use light.

Blue is smoother than the red, very bright, I personally dont use it much.

IR is useful if you have nod's. Again, a little brighter than the inbuild pvs14 ir led.

Switch is pretty easy to manipulate, even with gloves on. Button is firm, no real click sensation, but a definite press is required. Must lift the outer switch bezel and rotate it to set it to each LED.