Active thermal management Armytek Wizard Pro v2 and non Pro v2

FlashlightR

Newly Enlightened
I am new to the CPF so I hope I place this thread on the correct location on the forum...

I am interested in how in real life the active thermal management of LED and electronics functions in the new Armytek Wizard Pro v2 and non Pro v2.

I found a thread on the german messerforum.net in the thema Armytek Wizard v2, link: (http://www.messerforum.net/showthread.php?128111-Armytek-Wizard-v2)

That guy was not very pleased with the regulation and returned both of the flashlights.

I cannot find any other in dept reviews of the new wizards.

All the info is welcome, thanks !

Crane

Newly Enlightened
I hope its not as bad because I received my Wizard Pro V2 few days ago and still waiting for the batteries and charger to arrive, haven't tested it yet, but from what I read - if the flashlight gets too hot - it will switch to lower power so as to protect itself from overheating, if it's really going to be annoying I might return it as well, or maybe there will be a way of frying off the thermometer. How hard is it to make a proper heat sink. :shakehead

Norm

Retired Administrator
A lot of newer lights give you a turbo mode for a quick blast of light, and then drop back to high, they are not designed to run turbo 100% of the time.

Norm

FlashlightR

Newly Enlightened
Thanks guys. The main reason I want to know more about it is that I had a wizard pro v1.5 that I also sent back. The light became extremely hot, almost 70 degrees celcius, then suddenly without any warning it dropped down to a low level and it made an annoying cheap pwm buzzing sound. The light did not automatically step up in brightness when it cooled down. In that case Zebralight seems to offer a better solution with the PID controller.

Norm

Retired Administrator
I don't know of any flashlight that automatically steps up.

Norm

FlashlightR

Newly Enlightened