Spyware/Spyware Killer for Macs?

Ginseng

Flashlight Enthusiast
With all this talk about spyware and worms and stuff on the PC platform, I have to wonder about the situation for Macs? I've been using Macs since 1991 and have never had a serious virus, worm or hijack situation. having said that, how do I know if there is spyware on my computer? I use an 800MHz half-ball i-mac.

Thanks,
Wilkey

James S

Flashlight Enthusiast
at this particular moment there isn't any. even programs like file sharing utilities that install this stuff on the PC side don't have it in their Mac counterparts yet. They either decide that the development is too difficult or just not worth it for the amount of people using it.

That will almost certainly change in the future, but today you don't have to worry about it.

A nasty fellow could make a Mac worm program that sent email around just like the PC ones, but it would always have to be a trojan to get you to click on it. And none of the mail clients I've used over the years would run an application that pretended to be something else without alerting you. I tested it. This is still true. So unless you're particularly careless you're safe there also, for now.

There is no visual basic scripting built into mail clients on macOS, so it's considerably more difficult to embed code to do anything. Even impossible to use some of the most often used exploits in Windows. So a Trojan is the only way, or to get you to run the thing as part of an installer like for the file sharing utilities.

But also, how MacOS handles running processes is different. They could give themselves a pleasing name so that you might not recognize them in the process list output, but they can't hide any better than that. Any piece of software on your machine you don't want there is only a kill statement away from being stopped. It's much harder to hide them in there.