HWA WYS Ultrafire fake

plate

Newly Enlightened
Hello all!
First, I'm quite new to flashlights, even tho I know a thing or two about electronics. So please don't be mad if I ask something silly.

Second, recently I bought myself a cheap flashlight from eBay (not giving a link I read the rules :D )
It was rated as 2200lm, even tho I realized right away that It probably isn't true, I thought It will be bright enough for me (going to use it for night fishing, some camping, walking the dog late at night)... once it gets dark I'll test it out on something.

What surprised me is the shady build quality. I mean, I haven't seen any manufacturer sell their merchandise with some dings, scratches and pieces of iron that is obviously from cutting the bezel.
So... I took it apart to have a good look inside... And understood that I don't understand a thing here.

Google doesn't say anything about this LED (LatticeBright ver.:2.0):

Or this chip (YN-20-5):

And doesn't it need a heatsink in that open space in there?

The flashlight:

Well... at least the lens can do come macros :D:

Can anyone give me any information about the LED? I mean the actual lumens, what do the other pins do?
Possible LED/chip upgrade in here?

plate

Newly Enlightened
I read the first article, but it didn't say anything new about a LatticeBright ver.:2.0 (I could have told you that it's a cree xm-l myself)

And I agree, I may have tossed this in the wrong forum.

plate

Newly Enlightened
Ok... then can anyone point me in the direction for the emitters info-sheet?
Or explain in a few words is the star base a good enough heatsink or it should have something more there?

candanga

Newly Enlightened
Hi everyone, greetings :)

I just wanted to add my 2 cents on this one, as I'm in the same boat.

I purchased the same exact model of "Ultrafire", mine says "HWA/WTS", and yours "WYS", no idea which one is the cheapest, LOL.