Focus Led Flashlight Brands

reny0519

Newly Enlightened
Hey, guys! I'm new to the forum. I've been reading and surfing through this site for so long I figured I might as well become a member lol

Anyways, I know you guys won't like my taste in flashlights as the title suggests, but I favor flashlights that have the ability to focus. To each their own, right? I have a pretty simple question. Any input is appreciated. I've been searching for focus flashlights for quite some time now and all I see are crappy Chinese flashlights. I'm no expert or flashlight addict, but I would like to make a decent purchase that meets my requirements. So far I have came across Led Lenser and Coast Flashlights. I understand there isn't a strong following for these companies, but are there any other companies/brands that I'm overlooking?? Thank you in advance!! Also, if there has already been a post about this, please direct me to that page.

Amelia

Enlightened
The problem with focusable lights, and probably the reason they're not more popular/available, is that it's a tradeoff that's not typically worth it. You are exchanging a mechanically simple, finely optically tuned, easy to waterproof design for something that's more mechanically complex (and typically more unreliable), poorly tuned as an optical "compromise", and more difficult to waterproof.

I also would like to see more "quality" focusable lights, but until we have the technology for fully sealed (motorized? magnetic?) reflector movement and "smart" reflectors that can change their shape/curvature, I'm afraid that the only companies that will be offering lights into this market will be selling lower-end "gimmick" lights people buy at Home Depot for $14.95 and break a few weeks later.

Last edited:

reny0519

Newly Enlightened
So would you suggest any small pocket size flashlights that have decent flood and throw? Preferably at least 300 lumens?

ven

Flashaholic