Emitter Swap Success... Sort of

snowlover91

Flashlight Enthusiast
Swapped out the emitter on my old Nitecore D10 and switched it out for a newer XM-L2 emitter, changing it from cool white to a nice neutral color. My only question is I've noticed something weird with the highest/turbo mode.. When turning it on to turbo it lasts a few seconds before fading and quickly shutting off. Every other mode from right below turbo to moonlight works perfectly fine without any issues whatsoever. Any issues what may cause this and if I can fix it? No chips were damaged in the process of swapping it out so it shouldn't be because of anything like that but it has me baffled as to why it would act this way only on turbo.

ChrisGarrett

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm no expert, but I'll bet that the new XM-L2 is sucking more juice than the driver can handle? What battery/cell are you using?

Chris

snowlover91

Flashlight Enthusiast
Using just a standard Eneloop AA battery. Even though this light was rated to support 14500 I have heard of some people having theirs stop functioning as a result and don't want to risk mine since these aren't in production anymore and are very difficult to find. I would think the Eneloop would be enough but maybe the new XM-L2 is pulling more juice? It's definitely not a short as the soldering was clean and nowhere close to the pill.

ChrisGarrett

Flashlight Enthusiast
Using just a standard Eneloop AA battery. Even though this light was rated to support 14500 I have heard of some people having theirs stop functioning as a result and don't want to risk mine since these aren't in production anymore and are very difficult to find. I would think the Eneloop would be enough but maybe the new XM-L2 is pulling more juice? It's definitely not a short as the soldering was clean and nowhere close to the pill.