Need Project to demo for school

Johnny_5

Newly Enlightened
Hi everyone, I need some help and suggestions for a specific build. I have many weird requirements and as an old geezer going to school I am severely lacking sleep (so grammar my splenig not may be good, dman dylsxeia), I appreciate your understand and assistance in advance. I have been trolling here since around 2005 or so, and joined a little while back to (finally) ask some questions and buy a few things. Now I'm back for more knowledge and for one of my (community) college classes I want to do a flashlight project and will borrow a sony night shot video camera.

I am attempting to achieve the project as follows:

1.) I will use an infrared LED (Quoted Oslon Black Series 850nm 90deg SFH4715S) this is good for about 3 watts in and 1 watt out (at Tj 25C Vf2.75 typical and current of 1amp) with a 1*1mm die and a 90deg (45deg half) angle output (sounds pretty damn similar to the old cree X-RE, though not the older .9*.9mm die, still sounds quite focusable though)

2.) I want to use a quality host for this, some sort of P60 that screws in and feels 'nice' in the hand (good threads, decent thicknes, good thermal management)

3.) I would like to use optionally single 18650 and/or dual cr123 batteries; if I must choose then I prefer pair of CR123a primaries.

4.) I would like to drive it pretty hard, but I do want to operate at a Tj of 100-125 (or so, something like that if possible) in a Temp ambient of something like 10-30 deg C or so (50 - 86deg F). I can go a bit higher or lower but not a lot.

5.) I would like to operate this LED with a Tj of about 100 deg celcius but not more than 125 deg celcius. The LED itself has a thermal path of "11 deg kelvin per watt" (11 deg C per watt), I know this is not up to modern standards but that is ok.