Helo w/project, SF Aviator incandescent

nimdabew

Enlightened
First, this forum is awesome. I have learned more about lights in the last few months just lurking than I have had in the last few years. So I bring this project to you good people in hope that I can take my aging (but still cool) SF Aviator incandescent light and mod it to something a bit more modern.

I am a pilot so I need to have a red light backup in the cockpit, but I would like (not necessary) to have a variable output white LED if possible, or just a cool 50-100 lumen main white light in the center. It needs to be bright enough to illuminate engine compartments and the high tails of aircraft 25-30 feet off the ground, but not so bright I ruin my night vision right before I start the engines.

Is this wishful thinking on my part? Should I just bite the bullet and buy a new aviator led? Or should I just keep rolling with the red filters on my other variable output lights, even though the cool factor and clunkyness of the system is aparent?

cland72

Flashlight Enthusiast
Welcome to the forum.

It sounds like this project would've been the perfect solution to your request. Unfortunately, Calipsoii isn't building any more rings at this time, so the only alternative is the Koala Onion Ring.

I hope this helps.

:welcome:

Last edited:

Str8stroke

Flashlight Enthusiast
Not sure what year model A2 you have but:

Lumens factory has a high out incandescent bulb that will give you 120 lumens. It is a nice upgrade. Take the light apart and use some 1000 or 1200 grit paper and sand the Red leds to make them have a smooth output. This helps get rid of the 000 Olympic beam rings. lol
If you upgrade the bulb, I recommend using 3.0 volt RCR123 (rechargeable) cells. Soshine sells some pretty good ones.

Following is a great thread with tons of links.

http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb...-Thread-Index-Surefire-A2-Aviator-information

DrafterDan

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hello Nimdabew,