Why the 5 watt in the ARC5

Status
Not open for further replies.

Billson

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm still new to the technology of led's so I'm not familiar with the technical aspects of it yet. Can someone please explain for me if they can?

Why did Peter choose the 5 watt for the ARC5?

I may be mis-informed but I think I read here somewhere that the 5 watt led has a lifespan of "only" 500 hours. Does that mean that the technology of this led is not yet mature like the 1 watt that lasts 100k hours. I think it's a huge trade-off for just wanting a brighter light.

At just 500 hours, wouldn't it cause headaches for Arc with it's 10 uyear warranty. For people who use this light a lot, it would most probably fail before the warranty runs out.

Isn't there a better alternative without this compromise? I think most people would be skeptical to buy a $250 that lasts only 500 hours.

kakster

Flashlight Enthusiast
The quoted figures for luxeon life span refer to the time it takes for luminous output to drop by 50%. It will still be putting out light, just not as much as it used to. Also, i understand that the ARC5 will underdrive the LED at 3 watts which should greatly improve the life span.

Bernhard

Newly Enlightened
Peter will underdrive this 5W in ARC5, so I guess the short lifespan shouldn't matter, as the LED will last a lot longer. This quoted short lifespan is only for the 5W driven within spec.

Billson

Flashlight Enthusiast
If Peter is going to underdrive it anyway, isn't there a 3W led already existing with a rated lifespan of 50K+ hours? Will an under driven 5W be more efficient than a fully driven 3W under the same conditions?

Miciobigio

Enlightened
[ QUOTE ]
billson said:
Will an under driven 5W be more efficient than a fully driven 3W under the same conditions?

[/ QUOTE ]

YES, it will put out a beautiful and usefull side spill /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

mattheww50

Flashlight Enthusiast