Zoom lights ??? the good, the bag, and the ugly please ....

Wishiwereaskibum

Newly Enlightened
Hello flashaholics! I'm wondering why most lights being discussed in there are NON-Zoomable? I'm a newbie here, but have a couple dozen lights and actually like the zoomable ones a lot for versatility. I realize that perhaps a well made fixed focal length might be better, but it it really that much better to out-weigh the versatility of a spot-flood "all in one"?

I'm thinking of getting another EDC with a great interface, and probably have too much time on my hands to research this! lol. Seriously, I'd like your informed thoughts on zoom lights v. fixed focal lengths, and why most quality products seem to be fixed.

Of course, any recommendations on a $30-40 EDC (??? zoom ??) would be great.

Thanks - Merci - Gracias - Danke - grazi - 谢谢 - 感謝

more_vampires

Flashlight Enthusiast
Cheap spot to flood is out there (Sipik 68,) but you sacrifice some output to get this functionality. Most optics solutions give more "out-the-front" lumens than a Sipik 68 with aspheric optics can.

Example: Swapping to aspherics in a p60 host (no emitter swap) gives LESS light than the standard P60 reflector. It may or may not give a tighter max throw, which is what some people are looking for.

The monster long range throwers are not necessarily the brightest in lumens.

FRITZHID

Flashlight Enthusiast
I agree with op in that zoomies are nice to have. I edc a one that I modded & a coast polysteel that I always have near by. Both zoomies but my edc is a slider, which I don't care for as much as a twisty.
Just my 2¢.

kamote1half

Newly Enlightened