Question

MattyT

Newly Enlightened
This is probably a really stupid question but I am new to flashlights and Google does not produce an answer...
I am familiar with overall run time/output charts and how the light output drops if the light is constantly on due to heat.. But my question is, if my battery level is, say, low to medium, would I still be able to get full lumen brightness if I needed to use it? Or would my output be similar to the line I see on the charts? For example, if I have a 500 lumen light and I've used my light over a period of a few weeks so it's about 50% full, would my initial lumen output be 500 lumens when I turned it on? Or would I only be able to get 200ish?
Thanks for bearing with me, I appreciate any help!

Mr Floppy

Flashlight Enthusiast
it will depend on the light and how it is driven. Some will have perfect regulation where the output is flat until the battery is near exhausted. Others will have declining output.

The best thing to google for is "selfbuilt".

Last edited:

Jash

Flashlight Enthusiast
As stated, how it is (or isn't) regulated makes a big difference, as does battery chemistry. Alkaline batteries will not likely produce high outputs for very long, whereas ni-mh and lithium based batteries will provide more power at higher current levels, keeping your lights brighter for longer.

Str8stroke

Flashlight Enthusiast
Also keep in mind that many lights have a High or Turbo mode. Due to heat, these are often timed. Example: A manufacture may advertise a light as 1000 lumen on High or Turbo and 300 on medium. That High/Turbo may only be for a preprogrammed time. Some are are 30 seconds, others 90 seconds or so. These times can vary wildly by lights. However, after the said time, the light will automatically step down to a lower output. This of course is different with all lights. This is all designed to protect from heat damage to led or electronics.