What was the light that got you hooked as a hobbyist? Still have it?

uofaengr

Enlightened
I grew up getting many cheap $10 Walmart flashlights for Christmas to the point it became a running joke. I was never really fascinated with them though. Later on, I'd been given shitty 10 lumen 4xAA lights at work that were a burden to carry around more than anything else. As I changed jobs and was more on my own, I decided I needed a good light, and I chose the Surefire LX2 Lumamax and got a P2X Fury a year later. I thought that was all I needed, thought they were very bright and high quality, but still wasn't hooked as a hobbyist. I'd heard of the Chinese mega lumen lights, but sort of scoffed at them thinking they'd never come close to a Surefire.

Fast forward another 3 years or so, I'd quit carrying the LX2 in my pocket because it was too bulky to me. As a huge knife hobbyist, I was browsing a forum and laid eyes on the copper Maratac AAA. I'd never seen a copper light and thought it was great looking and actually small enough to pocket carry comfortably. Was impressed by the brightness too of a AAA light. That started my serious research of other lights and serious CPF lurking. I was hooked. LED and driver technology today is outstanding. Discovering the major advancements in rechargeable battery technology was a huge factor in getting me hooked as well. I love guilt free lumens.

As I became introduced to other tints, high CRI, and better UIs, the Maratac became nothing more than a novelty to me, and I sold it, replacing it with a copper Prometheus Beta which I enjoy. I've bought probably close to 10 lights since the Maratac, including several Chinese lights, all filling a different niche and love them all for the most part. I even have two custom modded lights including a Vinh light which is incredible. I can definitively say I'm hooked by now, constantly reading and trying to learn as much as possible.