Manker Quinlan T-01 Review

LeviGSmith

Newly Enlightened
OK, first off cards on the table: I don't know how I got on the "reviewer" list, but I was lucky enough to be contacted to receive a pre-production model and it was shipped 2 day express from Hong Kong. Got it last night.

My background is something along the lines of I like lights, have a decent number of odds and ends of them around, but I'd say my knowledge is more or less along the casual lines and most any of you know a LOT more than I do.

So, as far as the light itself. It arrived well packaged but more or less in a plain brown box with the Manker logo. No instructions or anything. Thankfully my contact had already sent me a jpg of the instructions.

My main thoughts are as follows:
-It's a pretty nice, fairly small light with quite a bit of power.

-Seems well built.

-Is not the most intuitive to control. I'm getting the hang of it, but it's going to take some practice, and it wasn't until I looked at the directions again this morning that I think I understand how to get into the whole second set of controls which look twice as complicated as the first, but also I guess the only way to go full turbo mode...
-Basically in the "normal" mode side of things, you have to hold the button to get it to turn on. Then single click to change brightness. And a double click to get it to go into the flashing/sos/whatever mode.
-Then it seems I have yet to try this 10 second hold to switch over to the "special" mode, which is similar to everything I just described except it looks like there's about 3 settings for each of those modes, plus a battery level indicator and direct current mode which does have a warning about how hot it's going to get.

-I'm waiting for a shipment from Battery Junction for some real batteries(Eneloop pro and a 14500). The best thing I had laying around was a relatively new Rayovac rechargeable from Walmart.