Lipo batteries and LEDs

debay777

Newly Enlightened
DISCLAIMER: I am not a electrician. I know absolutely nothing aside from a few basic terms and concepts. Please keep any answers to this post reduced to the simplest words and terms so that I can keep up. lol. Im not an idiot, this just isnt my normal area of operations.

I have been toying around with making my own dive lights for some time now. My recent goal has been to make a wide beamed flood light that will make my gopro footage full color and not have any hot spots. I bought 4 XML emitters, small drivers, and some of the rechargeable 18650 batteries. well, that project got put on hold for a while and has recently popped back into my to-do list. i was looking at my components and started wondering if I could use some of my Lipo batteries that are fuctional, but older and not quite working up to par with my newer ones. After some research I see that it is possible but I need a new style of driver.

my plan is to gut an old dinosaur UK light and convert it to my flood light. For now Im thinking that if I can get all 4 emitters close to the lens with a slight outward angle I can get a pretty bright and clear light to make my camera see in full color without a hot spot. i want to run one or two of my 3000 mah lipos in the light case (its a big housing) and drive all 4 of the lights at one time.

what driver would I need to run all 4 emitters? can I use some simple math and say that if each emitter needs 3v that with 4 emitters that a 12v output will be okay?

again, i am not an electronics whiz and I dont get into the all the tech mumbo jumbo. any help you could provide would be greatly appreciated.

more_vampires

Flashlight Enthusiast
again, i am not an electronics whiz and I dont get into the all the tech mumbo jumbo. any help you could provide would be greatly appreciated.

Not yet you're not! :) So you're going to run the emitters with no optics. Ok.