New to the forum and have questions...

TacTeacher

Newly Enlightened
Hello there folks, I'm new here and a self admitted gear junkie. I appreciate my flashlights from my law enforcement and instructor days and they're a part of my EDC kit. I have no experience with mods and I'm not very technical either. So here's my question:

Two of my lights are an Insight HX120 and an HX120R. They've been discontinued for problems that I've never had. My problem is they're the dimmest lights I have and I'd like to know if there are any mods to make them brighter? I like the lights but want better output.

Any suggestions?

thanks in advance!

TT

more_vampires

Flashlight Enthusiast
Gut or bypass driver, go direct drive with single lion rechargeable? You'll have output diminish almost immediately after first turn-on. You might also want to add a limit resistor, DD blaster lights can get wickedly hot in seconds or minutes. Thermal mass and thermal path now become issues.

http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?284177-Direct-Drive

Direct drive can be your best friend if looking for maximum output with fresh charge. If you wanted the light to stay relatively the same over runtime, then you don't want it.

The brightest lights are rarely stock. :)

TacTeacher

Newly Enlightened
More_vampires, I appreciate the explanation, BUT the technical jargon is lost in me. I'm the village idiot for tech stuff.

I'm looking for upgrades for the Insight HX120 and HX200 that will allow them to compete with today's far brighter lights, yet still have a decent run/use time. What parts? Where to get them? Etc.

I'd like to hit the 350-500 lumen mark with the HX 120.

ChrisGarrett

Flashlight Enthusiast
More_vampires, I appreciate the explanation, BUT the technical jargon is lost in me. I'm the village idiot for tech stuff.