How to tell if it's a genuine Olight.

DiamondBright

Newly Enlightened
Hello, newbie here.

Im looking for a new torch and really like the look of the olight sr96.

I live in England and I'm struggling with the eye watering price! I notice there are lots of cheaper ones from China on eBay, should I assume that tgey are not genuine as the prices are so much cheaper?
Then there are some over there in the U.S. that seem very reasonable.

The he question I have is how can I be sure that it's a genuine olight? Has anyone ever had any experience with the eBay users in the U.S. who are so much cheaper?

Thanks in advance for any help, it's gratefully received.

ven

Flashaholic
:welcome:there is that risk but would say unlikely unless silly cheap. My main concern is support if anything fails.........sending a large light back to china=££ and then the wait time of weeks...........months.

If set on that light, i would be looking here
http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?403431-SR96vn-10K-Lumen-Searchlight

Several reasons from 2nd to none customer service, will take 6-10 days to UK. Vinh is a pleasure to deal with and improves lights where manufacturers can cut corners(be it from off centre LED's to thin wires and poor heat sinking). Not saying any or all apply to this specific light, more a general comment:)

Of course reputable shops in the US seem a plenty ,quick search in here will show you those.

Kalpn

Newly Enlightened
There is very low risk of a "fake" olight. I have bought 4 olights straight from China. In total, I have bought about 40 flashlights from taobao. This includes olight, nitecore, jetbeam, klarus, sunwayman, convoy or even zebralight. You should save 20-40%, depending on promotions.

Like ven said, the risk would be the servicing, shipping cost and waiting time. For me, I do not plan to ship them to China so it is not a problem for me (not cost effective). So far, none of my flashlights have malfunctioned yet.

Last edited:

Vortus