Fenix PD-32 Can't Take Drops, I Need An Alternative

therock

Newly Enlightened
I have been through 3 PD-32's. They get active service on the job and over 3 years I have dropped one from 6-feet and the other two from lesser heights about waist high, and they all failed.
One of them it was a Panasonic rechargeable battery that failed to connect.

I know, get a handle on the butter fingers and the loose pockets eh?

Is there a model of comparable size and power that may be able to handle it? I am an industrial maint tech who crawls all over machinery big and small and have the light in my hands a lot.

Thanks,

AC

TCY

Enlightened
See if you like the Zebralight SC62W. Shorter, lighter, brighter, and as far as I know ZL lights are pretty sturdy.

Capolini

Banned
See if you like the Zebralight SC62W. Shorter, lighter, brighter, and as far as I know ZL lights are pretty sturdy.

A good torch all around.

I have the CW version[SC62] and have dropped it a few times,once from about 5' onto the pavement!....the UI sputtered for a few seconds then went back to normal. That was about 3 months ago.:thumbsup:

ven

Flashaholic
Hey there, your job seems similar to mine and i use a variety of tools. From the little Fenix cl20 that will stick(magnet) to convenient places or simply sit and flood out a nice amount of light.

I have a few solarforce hosts, my favorite is the p1d , however the p1 might be a more suitable host. Pick your flavour drop in, be it tint and mode/s and good to go.

Top is the p1d and HAIII(apparently) , its a tough very solid light anyway, lots of weight and gives confidence in hand.
Lower is the p1 which has a coating, this gives it a little "bounce" so to speak and imo would make an ideal choice for a host.

Left is the p1 and has an xpl 3 mode( iirc),right is a CQvn which is 4x xpg2 5000k ,all flood but great for close up work and lighting the whole area in front without dazzle/reflection.