First dual power lamp

teeveeloon

Newly Enlightened
Hi all,

I set out the task to make a lamp that could be powered by either 3 x AAA or 1x18650/2xcr123a, today was the day I finished it.

Im new to this so quite proud of my efforts, only light project I have done before this was a 12v bedside lamp which required very basic skills, this was a little more advanced for me.

LED is an XML T6 from an ultrafire C8
Not 100% on the type of driver.

The switch is 3 position, position one uses the 3AAAs to power the light, position 2 is off and position 3 uses the 18650/2×cr123a.

8d6f55ed81ce9404fcc9e025a0ace059.jpg
054ade8c1ff46100671075b77e92a4e1.jpg

Design is unique I think, not totally aesthetic, but I will be using it camping, which is why I chose the versatility in batteries, so in the event of my 18650s dying, I would use AAA primaries. Or rechargables, really is totally up to the user! The batteries are housed in the feet of the lamp and make it very stable.

I had so much fun making this. What feedback do you guys have? Im a 17 year old who recently discovered this world of lights and loves it.
Thanks for your time.
6b8e4d9f69b53cef5d0498a5db127f42.jpg

Last edited:

Str8stroke

Flashlight Enthusiast
Welcome to the forum and Neat idea. Look heres the reality my friend. It doesn't matter if it works or not, if everyone loves it or hates it, if its pretty or ugly, its YOURS and you had fun! I am not sure if you are going to get a invite to the White House?? But you had fun and you built it! So that is awesome.

For some reason I am wanting to call this creation Cyclops!

EDIT: way off topic: Is that counter top Terrazzo from the 70's?? Sure looks like it. lol

teeveeloon

Newly Enlightened
I like that name!

Well at least it works!

Every project I will try and make something a little more challenging, hopefully I'll see some improvement, still working my fine motor skills with the soldering iron.

Thanks

Flashy808

Enlightened