thrunite tn36 vs nitecore tm26 or any other recommendations

neverlift17

Newly Enlightened
Hello all,

I am looking at getting my dad a flashlight for christmas I have been looking at the thrunite tn36 or nitecore tm26 ( or any other recommendations) . I found reviews between these two but it was from last year. Just wanted to know what you all think or recommend. My budget will be around 300. '

I do have some questions since im a noob lol. On the thrunite tn36 the reflector doesnt look like a mirror reflector it looks like crumbled up tin foil lol Is there a purpose for this? wouldnt it be better to have it like a mirror? Also on batteries, i see most of these can use an array of different battery combose for ex.[h=1][/h][FONT=Arial, sans-serif]4 X Nitecore NL186 2600mAh 18650 rechargeable batteries or 8 X EdisonBright CR123 Lithium Batteries bundle. Is there a benefit to using one combo or the other rather than having more batteries to charge and not lose?

Thanks for your time and i look forward to hearing what you all recommend
[/FONT]

ven

Flashaholic
The effect in the reflectors you describe is "orange peel" and smooths out the beam. Helps with LED's that are made from 4 emitters together like the xhp70 or MKR's.

tn36 is a great light, check out the UT version as well,cheaper there is a mini version tn30 and available in NW(neutral white) and CW(cool white).
Also check the Niwalker mm15 out, 2x MTG2 leds for around 5000k of flood and even the mm18:)
:welcome:

ven

Flashaholic
With these lights in question, i would be using 10a 3500 cells for a happy medium in A rating and run time. Just make sure(if not already) your dad understands the safety side and also has a good charger,be it Xtar or nitecore(avoid ******fire cells and chargers)

neverlift17

Newly Enlightened