Just Bought a Maratac cr123 Copper Flashlight...tell me about it

VTLightSky

Newly Enlightened
Hey All! Been a long time since I posted here but I just ordered (as the title says) a maratac cr123 copper light and a box of 12 cr123 batteries.
Anyone have this light? Can anyone tell me about it? Good or bad? I know I already ordered it but I'm curious.

Also, this is my first time with cr123 batteries. Anything I should know?
Also, can I expect pretty regulated brightness from this light and these cells? Or, after they're about half way depleted (for example) will I see a noticeable decline in brightness?

Apologies if these are NOOB questions.

Thanks in advance!

Str8stroke

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have one in my pocket now. Know how I know?? Cause it is heavy. lol You will know you got it. But, it is a super nice light. I wouldn't expect much from the "glow" oring they use. It is pretty lame at glowing. Otherwise, no complaints. It has a solid feel, my threads are butter smooth, it also has a solid lanyard ring mount. I am more than impressed with the new knurling design. It feels great in your hand.

It is a twisty, but you can use it one handed with some practice. If you are going to carry it in your hand, keep it screwed down to where it is just about to turn on. Then you can just press down on the head with your thumb and it will come on. With practice, you can change modes too. DONT leave it screwed this close in your pocket. You could accidentally turn it on and drain battery or worse, burn your leg. lol

I suggest adding a short lanyard with say a copper bead. I do this with most all my lights. It really helps draw it, and for twisting. But this one you can also twist one handed. It is that smooth.

The copper seems very high quality to me. Of course I am no metallurgical engineer. Just my observation.