A different firefighter flashlight thread

RNLAF

Newly Enlightened
Hi Guys,

I'm pretty new here on CPF but I have been reading a lot. I'm both a professional as a volunteer firefighter and I'm looking for good flashlight. Now, I know a lot has been written about firefighter flashlights on this forum because I have read a lot of those posts. The consensus seems to be that a "throwy"light "cuts" true smoke and works best for a firefighter.
I have been a career firefighter for 16 years, the last 5 of them also being a volunteer. 10 of those 16 years I have been an instructor. In a smoke filled enviroment I prefer not to use a flashlight at all. Most of the light reflects right back at you making it even harder to see anything. If you are looking for the seat of the fire true thick smoke, you are better of using now light at all. When locating a possible victims in a smoke filled house a throwy flashlight does seem to work a little bit better then a floody light. But these day we are no longer using flashlights to locate body's in a smoke filled building, we use thermal imaging cameras. If you have ever used one of these things, you know it will hands down outperform any flashlight in fire conditions.