Who do you consider to be the innovators and who are the laggards?

Apartment 4A

Newly Enlightened
Hi all,

I'm new to the flashlight scene and I'm trying to wrap my head around the different companies in the field.
One question I can't answer is; which companies are the innovators and who would be seen as conservative or is there really not a big difference between them?

Say for example Cree puts out a new LED. Who would you expect to jump right on with a new model? And who will wait see how it holds out in practice?

You've probably seen some version of this;
20110714211709!DiffusionOfInnovation.png

Who do you consider to be the innovators, early adopters, early majority, later majority and laggards?

Hope to pick your brain on this and gain some insights.

Mr Floppy

Flashlight Enthusiast
Laggards? Maglite, led lenser.
Innovators, too many to single out just one or two

Fleetwood

Newly Enlightened
I'm sure it may be controversial but Surefire: Laggard.

I can buy a 500lm Surefire for £250. Or a flashlight like an SRT7 that's twice as bright, with an innovative (and in my opinion, revolutionary) control ring, RGB LEDS built in, well made, better strike bezel... for under £100.

It's like Surefire doesn't acknowledge the existence of fierce competition, and is lagging behind just like Maglite.

magellan

Honorary Aussie
Yeah, the SRT7 is a terrific light. Also the smaller SRT3 is pretty nice too.

magellan

Honorary Aussie
Ima laggard so by the time the laggards make change I'm just buying the old version...
I still buy incan flashlights.

LOL

Me too. I sorta actively collect old Incans and have a lot of Mags and other brands. I recently inventoried them and for the non-Mags I have 47 different lights by 33 different makers/labels, 58 counting dupes. For the Mags I have 69 lights in various sizes and colors, 90 including dupes. So yeah, I still like Incans. :)

wjv

Enlightened