Old to flashlights, but a noob to flashlight building

Sffred

Newly Enlightened
Hello CPF members,

ive made an impulse buy and bought an eBay 5mode 1000lumen LED drop in for a Surefire 6p, but then I bought a Solarforce L2 (2011) body, bezel, and tailcap also. Hopefully I made a good purchase for a host. I'm looking into 18650's and see that there are so many types mAh's. Lowest I seen was 1800mah and the highest was around 8-9000mah. From what I'm reading online it looks like 3000, 3400, and 4000mah seems to be most used. I know I should only go for a protected 18650 is there a particular name/brand i should be looking for?

This would be an alternating EDC flashlight with my Insight HX150, and streamlight stinger LED DS. And maybe a couple pistol classes.

Since I am a noob to CPF please school me on the items to purchase.

thank you for your time CPF members,
sffred

lightfooted

Flashlight Enthusiast
I personally have an AW and 4 Nitecore brand 18650s. The Nitecores are a bit long at an actual 69-70mm OAL which is fine in either of my two Solarforce lights (L2P and L2T) but put a lot of unneeded stress on the spring in my JetBeam Jet IIIM.

I'm gonna recommend against anything stating more than 3400 mAh...it's likely a lie anyway but also could turn out to be half a battery. I tried the Solarforce drop-ins as well and while they are not high quality potted varieties, I haven't had any problems with my mine in the 3 years I have had them.

Sffred

Newly Enlightened
Thanks, I have a buddy who uses a terralux tt4-ex and he loves it and uses it on duty, and he was saying Surefire and streamlight flash lights are underpowered for the comparable market now. So I made an impulse buy with the solar force L2

bykfixer

Flashaholic
Check out Malkoff Devices for a better drop in for your 6P.